Beast & geeks

Quid pro quo. When the kiddo agreed to join us to watch Kong: Skull Island last week, it was not without condition. And so last Saturday afternoon, though still groggy and exhausted from a mad motorcycle dash from Greenhills to Antipolo under the sun, I found myself inside the cinema, my girls beside me, watching Disney’s latest take on the age-old Beauty and the Beast, this time CGI’d for the IMAX generation.

beauty-beast-soundtrack-celine-dion

It was an interesting turn, considering that just moments ago, my brother and I were geeking out at Big Boys Toy Store’s SUMO Sale at Promenade Hall in Greenhills, gawking at actions figures and comics that we could hardly afford despite the discounted prices. Even so, I ended up with a seven-inch Heisenberg, priced P500, down from over P1,000. Not bad.

FullSizeRender (3)

More loot: At nearby Shoppesville (actually, our original destination before we got wind of the ongoing SUMO Sale), my brother scored a Hellboy action figure, while I rescued a pair of comics from Filbar’s bargain bin.

FullSizeRender (2)

At Astrovision in V-Mall (one of the few branches left after the ones in Trinoma and Robinson’s East Grand Mall recently closed down), I bought on impulse the Dark Knight Trilogy DVD set for P500 because, well, why not? I think anyone and everyone will agree that Christopher Nolan’s Batman films are the best Batman films out there.

darkknight

We could’ve scored a lot more. Greenhills, after all, is the mecca for superhero freaks. But unfortunately our funds were anything but super. And so come lunchtime we decided to hightail it out of there, lest the urge to splurge make us lose control over our credit cards, and then we’ll be doomed.

Sunday I was full-on Dad mode.

And now it’s Monday, and it’s back to the daily grind, back to earning my keep again, so that the next time I find myself in Greenhills I will not go home empty handed, even if they’re just a bunch of dated items at discounted prices.

Leave a Reply

