How Simon Dark ruined my weekend

I was having a fun long weekend, enjoying my tightrope act of balancing my hobbies and my duties as a father/husband, until a visit to Greenhills Shopping Center on a sun-blasted Sunday morning put a stain on it. Indeed, it was probably the first time I went to Greenhills where I went home not in a celebratory mood. Needless to say, the commute home was long and dreary.

All because of Simon Dark.

simon_dark_project_by_deadheadhorror-d3grbnx

Well, not exactly him. God forbid a dude with a face like that would invade my weekend. I’m talking about the Steve Niles comics that DC ran from 2007 to 2009.

See, last week, when my brother and I were traipsing around Greenhills Shopping Center, I spotted Simon Dark Vols. 2 and 3 at the bargain section of Filbar’s in Shoppesville. Considered scoring them, but didn’t, on account that it was missing Vol. 1 and I had no idea what the comics was all about except that it has cool creepy covers. I settled for Swamp Thing Vol. 4 (because Alan Moore, mofos!) and a collected Green Lantern instead. But it wasn’t an easy decision, and one that I would regret soon.

simon-dark

Last Friday, at Filbar’s Megamall, I spotted Simon Dark Vol. 1 . Of course I had to score it, but not without thinking — regrettably — of the two volumes I had to let go a week earlier in Greenhills. I was suddenly gripped with a strong urge to go to Filbar’s Shoppesville to snatch Vols. 2 and 3, and would’ve done so if only I wasn’t with my wife and kid that time. Saturday, trapped at home, neck-deep in daddy duties, I was restless as fuck. Couldn’t relax, couldn’t take it easy. Felt like banging my head on the wall. Chided myself for not buying Vols 2 and 3 the first time I saw them. So Sunday I hauled ass to Shoppesville despite the heat… and my world crumbled. Simon Dark Vols. 2 and 3 were no longer there, scored, no doubt, by some creep who obviously had better sense than me.

Filing this shit under Lessons Learned.

Leave a Reply

