Geek trumps metalhead

My Saturday looks loaded with activities. So loaded I have to drop one of them. With the heaviest of heart, I think I have to forego this year’s Pulp Summer Slam featuring Megadeth and Dragonforce (along with other foreign metal bands, but I only care about Megadeth and Dragonforce).

pulp1

I have my reasons. The concert will be held on the night where I’ve to drop by several places in the day, and commuting from one place to another under the kind of humidity we’re having these days will surely leave my 38-year-old carcass too tired to mosh and drink and go crazy in the evening. There was a time when I would pay no mind to exhaustion in the name of heavy metal, but that was a long time ago. These days I’m all for quiet evenings especially after a long, tiring day.

Growing old, man. It sucks!

But what my Saturday may lack in head-crushing music, it will make up for in geekery. Two things: TAGCOM’s Toys and Hobbies Convention 2017 at SM Megatrade Hall in SM Megamall, and afterward a trip to the cinema for Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2. Best thing about these two is, unlike in Pulp Summer Slam, I will be with my girls. It’s as much bonding with my family as indulging in my hobby.

guardian2poster

To chill at night I may crack open a couple of cold ones and watch either Daredevil Season 2 or another movie (got my eyes on Assassin’s Creed). All along, I will try to ignore the fact that at Amoranto Stadium, some of my friends, beer in hand, are banging their heads to “Tornado of Souls.”

2 thoughts on “Geek trumps metalhead

Leave a Reply

