Along came a spider

Been on a Spider-Man kick lately. It sort of just happened. I was thinking about the upcoming Spider-Man: Homecoming movie the other day, when I realized I haven’t seen the two previous Spider-Man movies, the ones with Andrew Garfield in them. I have a vague recollection of seeing parts of the first one, but that’s it. Can’t even remember if I saw it on a bus or on Cable TV. In any case, I intend to rectify that lapse pretty soon.

spiderman

Hasbro’s Spider-Man Web Warriors Edition 2015 from my, uhurm, personal collection

For the meantime, I read Spider-Man comics. Finished the controversial One More Day the other day, and its equally controversial follow-up, One Moment in Time (gah! Whitney Houston in my head!), this morning. And then I amused myself by reading how both got thrashed by fans in the comments section of Goodreads and Amazon. Man, Joe Quesada really got flamed for those two, especially One More Day, you’d think he’s Donald Trump. Moral of the story: you don’t fuck with comic-book fans.

iwantyourlove

I’ve no dog in this fight. I’m not a longtime Spidey fan (he’s too wholesome!) and have no emotional investment whatsoever to the Peter Parker-Mary Jane Watson love affair. So One More Day did not really hit me as hard as it did avid readers. In fact, methinks if you remove it from the Spider-Man context, a story about a man who makes a pact with the Devil to sacrifice his marriage in order to save a loved one from the throes of death is not at all bad. It’s like something teenage Gothic freaks would sink their vampire fangs into. However, use that to get rid of the status quo and start fresh is, indeed, lazy writing, and smacks of insensitivity to the fans who followed Spider-Man’s story for decades. I give the critics that.

Leave a Reply

